April 2016 Newsletter

Dear Parent/Guardian,

Good luck to all pupils preparing for SQA examinations. All candidates should be aware of their own examination timetable, please contact Mrs Chalmers, DHT, if any clarification is needed.

  1. Spring Concert
    Congratulations to everyone who took part in the Spring Concert which was superb.

  2. Easter Egg
    A group of S1 pupils are to attend this year’s Easter Egg performance on Thursday 21 April.

  3. S3 Exams
    The S3 Exams will take place in class time between Wednesday 20 April and Friday 29 April, although some exams may be outwith this time frame. Class teachers will inform pupils of which exams they are to sit and when these exams will take place. The results of these examinations will be used along with classroom assessment as evidence for National Qualification levels in S4. Parents will be notified of proposed levels in the S3 Reports in June.

  4. Exam Leave Dates
    Exam leave for S4/5/6 pupils commences on Wednesday 4 May.

    S4 pupils return to school on Friday 3 June. S5 pupils return on Monday 6 June.

    Letters have been issued to all S4 pupils detailing study leave arrangements.

  5. Choral Shield
    All cast members involved in the Choral Shield must pay their £5.00 fee to their respective House Captains. It is important that ALL cast members are available throughout the month of June to take part in ALL rehearsals. Any enquiries regarding the Choral Shield should be directed to Mrs Martin.

    Information about ticket sales for the performances on Wednesday 22 June and Thursday 23 June at the Civic Centre Concert Hall (Motherwell) will follow in the next Newsletter.

  6. Science Fayre 2015
    The Dalziel High School Annual Science Fayre will take place on Thursday 9 and Friday 10 June.

  7. Royal Navy Careers Day
    On Thursday 19 May, the Royal Navy will be holding a Careers Day in the school for S3 pupils. As the day will include a number of physical challenges and activities, pupils should wear casual clothes in place of their school uniform.

  8. P7 Games Evening
    The Annual P7 Games Evening will take place on Monday 23 May from 6.30 pm - 8.45 pm.

  9. S1 Reports
    S1 Reports will be issued to parents/guardians during the week beginning 16 May.

  10. School Meal Price Increase
    As you may be aware, the council accepted the savings proposal to increase the price of school meals and therefore, from Monday 18 April 2016, the cost of a school meal has increased from £1.85 to £1.95.

  11. Dates for your Diary:

    • Wednesday 20 April - Friday 29 April - S3 Exams
    • Monday 2 May - Holiday
    • Wednesday 4 May - S4/5/6 Exam Leave Begins
    • Thursday 5 May - Inset Day - School closed to all pupils who are not sitting SQA examinations
    • Thursday 19 May - S3 Navy Careers Activity Day - S3 pupils to wear casual clothes
    • Friday 20 May - Sponsored Walk
    • Monday 23 May - P7 Games Night - 6.30 pm - 8.45 pm
    • Friday 27 May - Monday 30 May - Holiday
    • Tuesday 31 May - P7 Intake Evening

Yours faithfully

ROBERT BIRCH
Rector